Day 21 – Musical thoughts

We had some friends over for dinner Friday night. Michele & Jerry are driving to Colorado for spring break with their two kids, ages 16 & 14. We all enjoy music, so we were trying to decide what to listen to as we were prepping dinner and enjoying appetizers. Jerry suggested some John Denver, since they were headed to Colorado – “Rocky Mountain High” was the first request.

Hearing that song and several other John Denver songs immediately brought me back to my childhood. I was flooded with memories of my mom, who passed away in December. I can vividly remember sitting in the living room while Mom played John Denver songs on the guitar.

It’s amazing how hearing certain songs can immediately transport you back in time. The memories, good and heartbreaking at times, come rushing in like a flood.

“Forever Young” by Rod Stewart – reminds me of driving home from Wisconsin after a middle of the night phone call informing us that my sister had been in a car accident, and her boyfriend had been killed.

“Rio” by Duran Duran – reminds me of junior year in high school when my parents wouldn’t let me go to the Duran Duran concert.

Anything off the “Cuts Like a Knife” cassette, by Bryan Adams – brings me back to a summer of great friends and showing horses all over the Midwest.

“Everybody, Everybody” by Black Box – a summer spent in the dorms at NIU my senior year in college.

“Finally” by CeCe Peniston – my first apartment and my first teaching job in Southern Illinois.

These days, I listen to country music 95% of the time. I am grateful I was able to convert my husband to country music. Music is on constantly at our house. Kenny Chesney, Old Dominion, Brothers Osbourne, Eric Church. Many country songs hold memories for me, as well. Even as I type this slice, Keith Urban is crooning about finding “Somebody Like You”. What songs bring back memories for you?

2 thoughts on “Day 21 – Musical thoughts

  1. Music is the heartbeat of every word I speak or write! It is an anchor for our memories and our development of being. This post made me cry and smile all in one fell swoop. Thank you!

    Like

Leave a comment