Day 13 – Wish I had a rewind button…

Day: Thursday afternoon @ dismissal

Scene: Hybrid Group A students lined up to go home – “Johnny” is first in line (so I can keep a close eye on him)

Johnny: Why do we have to come to school and learn this stuff? (not spoken in a cute, innocent way)

Me: Um, so you don’t end up homeless living in a cardboard box! (it had been a rough day!)

Johnny: That would be kinda cool!

Me: Oh, you think living outside in the cold with no food would be cool?! (like I said, rough day with this one!)

Johnny: Yeah!

Me: *eye roll* Have a nice weekend, DO YOUR HOMEWORK!

Yeah, some days are like that in third grade!

4 thoughts on “Day 13 – Wish I had a rewind button…

  1. Hmmm, I think I might have an idea of who this is. I saw him walking in on Friday and he was already in a mood. Did not want to put on his mask to come in and thought he could play on the rocks.

    Like

  2. Haha this reminds me of my mom when she would always tell my brother “Fine, don’t care about school, and you can dig ditches on the side of the road!” Sometimes we just get pushed and we can’t filter things fast enough…however I am not sure if ditch digging is really a thing!

    Like

  3. We all wish for that rewind button sometimes. A very real moment you shared. I love that in third grade I do get a second chance on the next school day for connection.

    Like

Leave a comment